top of page

Meet the Teacher

Dear First and Second Grade Parents,

Welcome to the 2019-2020 school year! I am so excited to be teaching your child this year in multi-age 1/2. Sorry about the delayed introduction (from open house), I am still getting the hang of things and I’m now almost organized with everything (I said almost). I am sure we will have a fun and adventurous year full of growth! I am blessed to be able to guide your child both academically and in faith, and I look forward to getting to know your child and your family this year!

This is my second year as a teacher! I am originally from La Crosse, WI, but moved to the Green Bay area with my family when I began middle school. I graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay with a degree in Elementary/Middle School Education and a minor in Theatre and Dance (so don’t be surprised if you see plays, songs, and silly things in the near future!). A couple of weeks ago, I moved into my first apartment located in Hobart. I have a twin sister, Macie (sorry, you might see double from time to time) and a younger sister, Callie. Back at my parents’ house are my two cats Oreo and Winston (also note that I am obsessed with anything cat/”Pete the Cat” so I already get along great with the cat-obsessed kiddos). Fun fact: I have taught Winston a whole bunch of tricks, that he is VERY good at, including sit, lay down, roll over, shake, high five, kiss, beg, jump, and stand up. One other exciting thing about me is that I recently got engaged this past spring, so I have been doing a lot of wedding planning at the moment.

In my free time, I love to perform! Theatre and dance have been my whole life since the age of five. Dancing holds a very special place in my heart. I also enjoy staying active, attempting to cook, reading, watching Netflix (who doesn’t?), spending time with my friends and family, and traveling whenever the opportunity comes.

I am so excited to be teaching in such a wonderful and supportive community. Teaching is the best job in the world. Being with creative, energetic, crazy, smart, and loving children is exactly where I am meant to be!

Please feel free to contact me at any time! I am very approachable and do not mind “being bothered”. I look forward to the year!

Kassie Laylan

kassie.laylan@abvm.org

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page